Listen Live
HomeNewsNew chief of Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory

New chief of Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory

A new chief has been elected by a small margin in Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory on Manitoulin Island.

This past Saturday, the community members elected Rachel Manitowabi as their new Ogimaa defeating incumbent chief Duke Peltier by just eight votes, 278 to 270.

She will oversee a band council of 12 councillors serving two-year terms with four incumbents and  eight newcomers elected.

The newly elected council for the 2022-2024 term are Francis Mandamin, Shane Cooper, Ralph Gonawabi, Lyle Peltier, Irvin Oshkabewisens, Phyllis Williams, Gilbert Pitawanakwat and Lorraine Fox. The four returning Councillors are Gladys Wakegijig, Joseph Wabegijig, Tim Ominika and Marcia Trudeau-Bomberry.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading