Voting for the Whitefish River First Nation chief and council will take place on line, by mail and in person this time around.

The First Nation, located about half an hour south of Espanola, passed a new election code in September 2018 and that means changes to the terms and number of members.

The newly elected members will serve a four year term instead of the standard two years, which was in place for decades.
There are 26 candidates running for seven spots on council, that’s one more than the current council, and four running for chief.

The election takes place Saturday, February 9th.

Band members have until 5 pm on Saturday, February 9th to cast a vote online.
Mail-in ballots are also available for eligible voters who live off-reserve; these individuals should have already received a voting package.
There will be a regular, in-person poll at the WRFN Community Centre from 8 am to 8 pm on Saturday, February 9th.

Online votes can be cast at where a full list of candidates and a notice of election can be read.

The candidates for council are: Anastasia (Stacey) Cywink, Nicholas Francis, Candice Jacko (Assiniwe), Gail Marie Jacko, Sandy Jacko, Anita Ruth McGregor, Brian McGregor, Cara (Caralyn) McGregor (incumbent), Francis Eugene McGregor, Leslie Florence McGregor, Lynn Marie McGregor, Murray McGregor Jr., Todd McGregor, Valarie McGregor, Beverly Nahwegahbow, Leona Nahwegahbow (incumbent), Esther Osche (incumbent), Gail (Kiki) Pelletier, L. (Bird) Pitawanakwat, John Recollet, Dave Shawanda (incumbent), Jacinta Maria Shawanda, Mark Hilary Shawanda (incumbent), Martha (Marti) Shawanda, Marilyn Stevens and Murray Still.

There are four candidates for chief. The candidates are: Carianne L. Agawa, Rose Jacko, Donald McGregor and Franklin (Shining Turtle) Paibomsai (incumbent).

Anyone who would require or prefer a mail-in ballot is requested to contact the electoral officer directly. A list of voters is posted at the WRFN band office and the community centre, or by request from the electoral officer. All electors are required to ensure their information on the list is accurate. The electoral officer, Lawrence Lewis, can be reached at 250-384-8200 or Jaclyn Casler is the deputy electoral officer and can be reached at 205-213-5247 or